Day 3: ouch

Did anyone else get walloped with a headache today? Mine hit hard at 4:31 a.m. and has essentially been there all day long. And I am so tired! I nearly pulled a George Castanza at the office today.

And is anyone else completely addicted to cashews right now? I cannot get enough, which tells me that I really should not be eating them. I have told myself that I will not go to Costco and replenish my quickly diminishing supply. I won’t. I won’t. I won’t!

Let’s talk food. Last night I made PaleoPot’s Chili Cilantro Lime Crockpot Chicken.

I had made the rub and marinade the night before while cooking the Cuban-style rice. PaleoPot said that he used a full tablespoon of cayenne in the rub. I have children. I need to decrease the heat a bit. I used one teaspoon of cayenne and also added one teaspoon of  smoked paprika. I placed the chicken in a slow cooker liner, then rubbed it all over the chicken. When I poured that marinade in…all of the rub slid off. Nertz.

Marinating Chicken

Marinating Chicken

Oh, well. I bagged it up and let it sit overnight, then slow cooked it for six hours. I just knew that this was going to be the juiciest, most flavorful chicken ever.

Ummm…not so much.

It definitely had great flavor. That is undeniable. But the white meat was dry. And the skin was a bunch of slime. Now, chicken skin is one of my favorite foods. My sister and I only half jokingly say that at Thanksgiving we would like a plate of skin instead of turkey.

That said, the meat was literally falling off the bones and I got a nice big platter of it.

A platter full of chicken

A platter full of chicken

I chose to serve the chicken with some haricot verts. I tend to pair like seasonings with like seasonings, so I searched for “green beans and cilantro” and found Green Beans and Carrots in Charmoula Sauce on FineCooking.com and made a bunch of changes. Here is my version:

Roasted Green Beans and Carrots in Cilantro Charmoula

2 garlic cloves, peeled
one handful (~1 cup) of cilantro, including stems
one handful (~1 cup) of Italian parsley
1/4 cup EVOO
Juice of 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp smoked paprika

one pound haricot verts or green beans
1/2 pound carrots, peeled and cut into sticks about the same size as the beans

sea salt and ground black pepper

What I did:
Preheat oven to 450°

Put the first seven ingredients into a food processor and process until saucy. 

Toss the carrots with ~1/3 of the sauce and roast for 10 – 15 minutes.

Add the green beans to the carrots and toss with another 1/3 of the sauce. Roast for 10 – 15 minutes, depending on how roasty you like your veggies. We like ours super roasty and browning.

When roasted to your liking, remove from oven and toss with the rest of the sauce.

Day 2: DinnerChili Cilantro Lime Crockpot Chicken & Roasted Green Beans and Carrots with Cilantro Charmoula

Day 2: Dinner
Chili Cilantro Lime Crockpot Chicken & Roasted Green Beans and Carrots with Cilantro Charmoula

The roasted vegetables were great. The sauce from the chicken, even with only one teaspoon of cayenne, was really spicy. My lips were burning. But…this recipe made enough chicken for two lunches and I have another 4 cups of shredded chicken that I am going to use for another meal this week.

Chili Cilantro Lime Chicken leftovers

Chili Cilantro Lime Chicken leftovers

That was last night.

So, one of the benefits of me not posting anything until the very end of the day, is that I also get to show what we had tonight, so no need to bore you with it tomorrow.

Breakfast: Sweet potato with ghee, sea salt and pepper, two slices Applegate Herb Turkey Breast (Applegate Farms is one of the few brands that does not use sugar in their deli meats.)

Lunch: Last night’s leftovers (I love leftovers)

Dinner: Seafood “Enchiladas” from Everyday Paleo Cookbook and Paleo Caesar salad

If you know me, then you know that I rarely make the same recipe twice. It is kind of like the way we vacation: there are so many places to go, why go to the same place twice? With food, there are so many recipes to try, why get stuck in a rut?

Having said that, I have made Everyday Paleo’s Seafood “Enchiladas” before, and they were good. I wanted to make them again, so I did, using Trader Joe’s frozen mixed seafood. It worked well. I paired it with a Paleo Caesar salad. I made my own mayo, which keeps beautifully in the refrigerator and is super-duper easy to make. Dinner was YUM, and the only bad part about it is that we have no leftovers.

Day 3: DinnerSeafood "Enchiladas"

Day 3: Dinner
Seafood “Enchiladas”

Until mañana, muchachos. Maybe this headache of mine will be gone by then.

Leave a Reply

